The UCSF Dickson Emeritus/a Professorship Award Recipients

Created by a gift endowment from the late Edward A. Dickson, Regent of the University of California from 1913 to 1946, the Dickson Emeritus Professorship Award honors outstanding research, scholarly work, teaching, or public service activities by a UCSF emeritus/a professor that have continued since retirement. The highest priority is for support of activities that benefit the campus and for which funding is not available from other sources. The awardee(s) shall be known as the Edward A. Dickson Emeritus/a Professor for the duration of the award.


2018-2020 Recipients


Isobel Russel

Isobel Russell, MD, PhD
Professor Emerita, Department of Anesthesia
UCSF School of Medicine

My proposal for the Dickson Emeritus professorship is to develop models for teaching the complex medical specialty of congenital heart disease. I propose the development of a 3D printed library of CHD pathology as well as a simulator to image these models with ultrasound. This would be a valuable learning resource for residents and fellows in all of the subspecialties involved in the care of these complex patients.


Ellen Weber, MD
Professor Emerita of Emergency Medicine
UCSF School of Medicine


Emergency Medicine is a new specialty in Tanzania; the first residency training program in EM began in 2011 at Muhimbili Hospital in Dar Es Salaam. In order to establish itself as an academic specialty, and to inform the local practice of emergency medicine, research is essential. For the past 3 years, I have been helping the residents and graduates of the Muhimbili program in designing, conducting, and publishing their research. Now, graduates of the program are bringing this new specialty to regions in Tanzania that have never had an emergency department and wish to create research programs in their new settings. The Dickson Emeritus Professorship Award will provide financial support to visit these new sites, teach the basics of research, help these groups develop feasible research ideas, and bring them to completion and publication.

Ellen Weber




Questions: Contact the VPAA Office by emailing

Past Recipients of the UCSF Dickson Professorship Award

The 2019 Call for Nominations

See also:       

The Presidential Chair Award