The 2017 Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award

The UCSF Faculty Mentoring Program is pleased to announce the recipient of the
2017 Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award: Dr. Abul Abbas, MBBS.


Abul Abbas

Abul K. Abbas, MBBS


Please join us for an award celebration and reception honoring Dr. Abbas
and his outstanding contributions to faculty mentorship at UCSF.

Award Celebration and Reception
Thursday, June 29, 2017 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm
City Lights Room, Millberry Union - 500 Parnassus Avenue


Dr. Abbas received his medical degree (MBBS) in India, completed training in Pathology at Harvard and joined the faculty at Harvard Medical School and the Brigham and Women’s Hospital, where he rose to become Professor of Pathology and Head of the Immunology Research Division. In 1999, after twenty years on the Harvard faculty, he moved to the University of California San Francisco as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Pathology. Dr. Abbas has received several honors, including election to the National Academy of Medicine, election as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Rous-Whipple Award and Robbins Educator Award of the American Society of Investigative Pathology. He has served as one of the founding Editors and Associate Editor of Immunity, Associate Editor and Section Editor for The Journal of Immunology, Associate Editor of Cell, Consulting Editor of The Journal of Clinical Investigation, founding Editor of the Annual Review of Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease, and Co-Chief Scientific Advisor for Science Immunology. From 2011-2013, he was the President of the Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies (FOCIS).

Dr. Abbas’ research interests are in Immunology, with a focus on the control of immune responses and the causes of autoimmunity. He has published over 200 peer-reviewed papers and invited reviews, and is the author of four widely read textbooks. Dr. Abbas has been an admired and beloved mentor for more than 30 years to dozens of students and junior faculty at UCSF and Harvard and has received numerous teaching awards at both institutions. As one letter of nomination writes: “He knows exactly when to inspire his mentees to breakout of their comfort zone and achieve more. He brilliantly combines this with an intuitive ability to know when to simply be supportive and allow autonomy.”


For additional information, please contact:
Mitchell D. Feldman, MD, MPhil
Professor of Medicine
Associate Vice Provost, Faculty Mentoring
University of California, San Francisco

Irené Merry
Faculty Mentoring Program Coordinator
(415) 502-0244


Previous Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award