Call for Nominations: UCSF Presidential Chair 2015-2016

Deadline for Nominations is January 26, 2015

UCSF faculty are invited to submit nominations for the 2015-2016 UCSF Presidential Chair. (PDF of this Call)


UCSF Presidential Chairs are intended to encourage new or interdisciplinary program development or to enhance quality in existing academic programs of the University. To meet this broad goal of contributing to the enrichment of campus academic life, UCSF will allocate Presidential Chair funding of up to $150,000.00, based on expenses incurred, to support the appointment of a distinguished visiting professor for up to one year. It is intended that incumbents be highly visible on campus, and that their tenure be accompanied by appropriate campus-wide activities and publicity.


The nomination packet should include a detailed description of the purpose for the proposed appointment as well as the nominee’s intended activities at UCSF. The proposed budget should provide a detailed outline that describes how the funds will be used. The Dean from the relevant School should provide a letter of support and concurrence. As appropriate, faculty who would benefit from the appointment should provide letters of support. The nominee’s CV should also be included.


Although the working title will be Presidential Chair, the individual will be appointed as a Visiting Professor (Title Code 1118).  The appointment will be governed by APM 230 and the department(s) will be required to submit an appointment packet through Advance.  At the end of the funding period, a report that summarizes the Presidential Chair’s activities and an accounting of the funds expended must be submitted to the Office of the Vice Provost, Academic Affairs.


October  23, 2014:

Nominations open

January 26, 2015:

Nominations close

February, 2015:

Committee review

February, 2015:

Nominator notifications

July - September, 2015:

Appointment starts (approx.)

Summer, 2016:

Appointment ends (approx.)

Fall, 2016:

Report due (within 2 months of end date)


Nominations will be reviewed by an ad hoc Committee appointed by the Vice Provost, Academic Affairs. The nomination packets will be reviewed on the basis of the nominee’s qualifications, the proposed activities, the budget, and the potential for new program development or significant enhancement of existing programs. The most competitive submissions will be those that detail how the proposed activities of the nominee will involve campus-wide visibility and translate into impact that spans departments and programs.

More Information

Frequently Asked Questions
UCSF Presidential Chair Guidelines (PDF)
APM 265 — Presidential Chairs
APM 230 — Visiting Professors
Printable PDF: Call for Nominations


Nomination Materials: 
The nomination packet must include all of the components below and must be submitted as a single PDF document. 

  1. Completed nomination form (PDF or MS Word).
  2. Summary of the purpose of the proposed appointment and of the scholar’s intended activities while at UCSF.
  3. Proposed budget outlining in detail how the funds will be used.
  4. Letter of support and concurrence from the Dean of the relevant School. As appropriate, faculty who would benefit from the appointment should also provide letters of support.
  5. Copy of the nominee’s CV.

Deadline: January 26, 2014 at 5 p.m. 


Submit via email (as single PDF file) to:   
Attention:  Brian Alldredge, Vice Provost-Academic Affairs (c/o: Abby Draper, Executive Assistant to the Vice Provost)
Questions may be directed to Abby Draper at 415-514-0421


The Tiny URL to this web page is, which can be bookmarked and shared.


Questions may be referred to Abby Draper at 514-0421;



Past Chair Holders


See also:       

The Dickson Emeritus Award